segment | e: Kahn, Lescalleet, Eubanks


Samstag 08.12.2012

segment | e: Kahn, Lescalleet, Eubanks

Jason Kahn (CH/USA), analog synthesizer, percussion
Jason Lescalleet (USA), tapes, electronics
Bryan Eubanks (USA), electronics, saxophone

segment | e Konzertreihe für experimentelle elektronische Hörmusik

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Popkredits der Stadt Zürich.

Jason Lescalleet has gradually and painstakingly built a compelling discography over the past decade. He uses reel-to-reel tape decks to explore the textures of low fidelity analog sounds and the natural phenomena of old tape and obsolete technology. He is one of a growing list of master producer/musicians, whose skill lies as much in reworking, assembling and mastering the material available as in creating it (or helping create it) in the first place.

Bryan Eubanks is a musician primarily active within the traditions of experimental and live electronic music. He works with unstable instruments that incorporate open-circuits, samplers, radio transmission, feedback, digital synthesis, the soprano saxophone, and other acoustic instruments. His compositions and installations involve practical research into computer music, generative composition, electronics, and sound localization in an effort to bring into being situations that examine transformations in the perception of sonic space/time.

Jason Kahn was born in New York in 1960 and grew up in Los Angeles. He moved to Europe in 1990, first living in Berlin until 1999 then moving to Switzerland. He is currently based in Zürich. Kahn came of musical age in the late 1970's, playing drums in punk bands and later making many records for the Los Angeles-based SST label. He turned more to improvised music in the late 1980's. In Berlin Kahn began working with electronics and composing. Kahn collaborates regularly with many musicians, both in improvised settings and in the context of graphical scores which Kahn composes for specific groupings of musicians. He has performed throughout Europe, North and South America, Australia, Egypt, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Japan, Korea, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Turkey and South Africa.